Landscape and Panoramic Photography

Milky Way Over Window Arch

While in Moab, Utah last week, I walked up to Window Arch after sunset and took a few photographs of the sandstone formations as the stars came out.  I descended back down to the car and turned around to take a last look at the stars.  I saw the Milky Way arching over the rock formations in front of me.  I took a few photographs on my tripod, each for about two minutes.  The stars blurred slightly as the Earth turned, but the Milky Way stayed a little more crisp and clear.  Window Arch is in the lower left of the frame along the horizon line.

Milky Way over Window Arch, Arches National Park, UT

Leave a Reply

