Landscape and Panoramic Photography

Monument Valley, Pt 1

OK, OK, OK- I know, it’s Monument Valley- one of the most photographed scenes from the Utah/Arizona border. How to make a panorama of this place unique?  I was fortunate enough to drive through the national park on a partly cloudy day after my backpacking trip through Paria Canyon.  If I lined the clouds and buttes up at the right angle and used a red filter to make the clouds pop, they looked to me as though they were steaming or erupting.

Erupting MonumentErupting Monument, Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park, AZ (16″x44″)

4 responses

  1. Great image and B&W conversion.

    June 16, 2013 at 09:40

  2. I know that spot… nice approach to capturing the scene.

    June 16, 2013 at 10:05

  3. malinhphotography

    Stunning…

    June 17, 2013 at 06:14

  4. Thanks, everyone for your positive comments. (And Mike- thanks for the reminder- your panoramas of the area reminded me I hadn’t posted my work from March!)

    June 17, 2013 at 08:54

Leave a Reply

