Landscape and Panoramic Photography

Cliffs and Deep Lake, WY

I finally had the chance to sit down and look at a few more of the photographs that I took while backpacking in the Wind River Range this summer. We started in the southern portion of the range, near Sweetwater Guard Station, and ended up in the northwest corner of the range, near Jim Creek and Saltlick Mountain. I now realize that I took over 90 panoramas, and after all that work, I think I might actually like about 10 of them. I will try to post a few of these pieces every week, following the route of our course. I took this week’s shots near Temple Peak on the southern shores of Deep Lake- we camped two nights and did some rappelling in this area before continuing on. You can see the Cirque of the Towers, a famous climbing area, past the end of Deep Lake in both panoramas.  I included one panorama in B&W and one in color to give a sense of the lighting.

Deep Lake Glow after StormDeep Lake Glow after Storm, Wind River Range, WY ( 13″x69″)

Deep Lake Storm Clouds and LightDeep Lake Storm Clouds and Light, Wind River Range, WY (13″x60″)

Leave a Reply

