Landscape and Panoramic Photography

McPolin Farm

Earlier this fall while I was in the Salt Lake City area, I decided I wanted to photograph a barn- not just any barn, but a big, old barn. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to drive for hours to some of the more rural farms outside Salt Lake, and I’d already visited Antelope Island.  After doing a bit of internet research, I found the McPolin family farm in  the Park City area. Although the barn is a bit manicured, I thought it would be fun to drive up to Park City to see the building. It was a cloudy afternoon- my favorite for creating a bit of drama in the sky. I collapsed the legs on my tripod down so the camera could sit as low to the ground as possible in order to magnify the height of the structure. Yes, the photo is a bit ridiculous and dramatic (I even did a bit of burning around the edges for a vignette effect), but that is what I was going for. I took four panoramas from a variety of angles- here is my favorite.

McPolin_BarnMcPolin Barn and Clouds, near Park City, UT (16″x24″)

 

One response

  1. Love the distortion here. Adds interest!

    December 10, 2013 at 10:07

Leave a Reply

