Landscape and Panoramic Photography

Mt Sopris and Clouds

After hiking up Mount Sopris a few years ago, I stopped on my drive back to Carbondale to photograph Mt Sopris and the fields on the edge of town. At the time I unfortunately only had a small Nikon camera (not a full-frame SLR), so I took a “double-tall” panorama to try to make up for the lack of a nice camera (and I thought the final panorama turned out well). This summer, I decided to head back to the area, wait for a day with dramatic storm clouds, and photograph the scene again with my full-frame SLR.  When I stopped by (June), it wasn’t harvest season yet, so there are no hay bales in the foreground. Conditions aren’t always perfect, so I made do with the scene in front of me.

 SoprisandWheelLineSopris and Wheel Line, near Carbondale, CO (20″x60″)

SoprisVirgaTreeSopris, Virga, Tree, near Carbondale, CO (12″x18″)

2 responses

  1. Excellent photos! I’m having a hard time to decide which one i like the most…

    July 14, 2014 at 11:51

  2. Niki

    Sopris is ALWAYS my favorite as it was a favorite of Grandma June. Wonderful photos, Luke!

    July 14, 2014 at 13:09

Leave a Reply

