Landscape and Panoramic Photography

Morning Sun on Mesa Arch

I slept in the back of my Subaru to save time in the morning. When my alarm went off, I deflated my sleeping pad, hopped into the driver seat, and rubbed the sleep out of my eyes as I turned on the defroster and headed to Mesa Arch. Sunrise was gorgeous, but the crowd of photographers that showed up a few minutes after I arrived made me want to hang back and wait for a clear view of the arch and mountains. After most of the other photographers rushed off to their next tour stop, an incredible glow developed under the arch when the sun started to reflect off the sandstone cliffs below the overlook.

GlowingMesaArchGlowing Mesa Arch, Canyonlands National Park, UT (16″x44″)

MorningSunMesaArchMorning Sun on Mesa Arch, Canyonlands National Park, UT (16″x40″)

4 responses

  1. Awesome stuff 👌

    August 17, 2014 at 09:10

  2. So very expansive! 🙂 Gorgeous lighting, too.

    August 17, 2014 at 10:14

    • Thanks for the comment- I didn’t know about the lighting that morning until I saw the under glow on the arch. Definitely worth sticking around after sunrise.

      August 17, 2014 at 20:27

Leave a Reply

