Landscape and Panoramic Photography

Great St. Bernard Pass

I spent a few days this summer visiting my maternal great grandfather’s home town in the mountains north of Aosta, Italy. On my way back to Switzerland, I walked up the back of the “Colle di Gran San Bernardo” and took a few photographs of the clouds as they gathered over the jagged peaks and glaciers of the Alps. I need to visit this place again- I am accustomed to thin air and a long approach to see glaciers near 13,000 feet in Wyoming, but the ice in the Alps is much lower and often easier to reach.

WindowofCloudsoverStBernardPassWindow of Clouds over St. Bernard Pass, near Valais, Switzerland (16″x59″)

2 responses

  1. Dollinger

    Oh, what an amazing photo! Clouds and mountains—a fabulous combination!

    September 13, 2015 at 16:40

    • Thanks for commenting- I also love clouds and mountains!

      November 6, 2015 at 09:02

Leave a Reply

