Landscape and Panoramic Photography

La Jolla Coast Bulb Panorama

I have found that stitching together sunrise/sunset bulb exposures to make a panoramic photograph is quite difficult. Although I maintained the 30-second exposure for each frame in the panorama below, the dusk lighting constantly changed as I composed the separate frames of the image. When I stitched the images together, the tones of the ocean did not match at the edges of the images, likely due to both the changing light as well as the different number of waves captured in each frame. After a black and white conversion, I think this photograph turned out well, but I still need to improve my bulb panoramas at the golden hour. Below the panorama I also included a single-frame color photograph of the waves and the sun at sunset.

RocksAndMistyWavesRocks and Misty Waves, La Jolla, CA (16″x45″)

SunWavesRocksLaJolla

Sun, Waves, and Rocks, La Jolla, CA (12″x18″)

Leave a Reply

